For this field report I was excited because it was much different than any other school assignment I’ve ever had. Also, I’m a very outgoing person so I didn’t really have a problem talking to strangers. This field report taught me a lot about communicating with different types of people in our society. During this assignment I tried to get people who would give me different reactions to make this report more entertaining. Luckily I was able to find some very interesting candidates who were willing to participate, whether they were happy about it or not. The first person I interviewed was an old man in my neighborhood. He seemed very intriguing and seemed like he had hundreds of stories waiting to tell me. I approached him  while he was cleaning his car. I knew this would be a great candidate for this project because we obviously shared an interest in cars and he had a 1972 de tommaso pantera. This is a very rare car that was sold by ford but was imported from italy. This was a great conversation starter for me and he turned out to be an extremely interesting guy. While we were talking i noticed that was very comfortable talking about his car with me especially because he knew how much i appreciates it. He actually told me the while story of how he originally bought the car and we actually had a great conversation. This was a very pleasant encounter with a stranger and he really taught me alot about the car. He also was a great example of how people with similar interests can go from strangers to friends after a 20 minute conversation.

The second person i encountered was a slightly different experience for me. I was in marillac eating and everyday i see the same guy walking aimlessly around the room and sItting down for a few minutes and then runs over to the soda machine as of he was looking for someone but never actually finds them. This was somewhat comical because he would literally do this everyday . I decided to just start a conversation with him without mentioning the assignment. He seemed way to happy to be talking to a stranger and was a little creepy. He was trying to become best friends with me and he was making me uncomfortable so i told him this was just for an assignment. This encounter was very awkward because this guy seemed way too excited to talk to strangers and had a weird tendency to walk around marillac staring at people. Nonetheless it was a very different and interesting encounter with a stranger.

For my last encounter i stopped and talked to a guy on the side of the road asking for change. People who do this have always brought curiosity to me so I decided to stop and ask him some questions. Usually these people are supposedly trying to raise money for kids with a disability or something but this one was different When  i asked him what he was asking money for he said “i’m not gonna lie im just broke and have nothing else to do”. This caught me bu surprise because moat people would never admit to doing something like that even if they were. I began to ask him why he was so honest with me and he Continued to tell me how hes embarrased but I resoected the fact that he was honest with me so I gave him a coubke of bucks and drove off. This encounter was another different encounter for me and even though the guy was embarrassed that he was asking for money I respected that. He was even willing to talk to me about his situation because of the way I responded to him and he seemed glad that someone wasn’t telling him he’s a loser and to get a job for once.

I learned a lot from the people I me for this report. The main thing I learned was that when encountering strangers you should always show them respect and they Will often give it in return. My three encounters were very different but the most interesting one was definitely the first. The most entertaining was definitely the second because the guy was a little too friendly and began to creep me out. Overall this field report taught me that when encountering strangers you should try and find common ground with them and you could always learn something from strangers.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

